Sooner Football Team Captains 

The Captains for the 2016 Sooners Football Squad have been selected. The players vote every year for who they want to lead their team, and this year they have selected QB Baker Mayfield, RB Samaje Perine, S Ahmad Thomas, and LB Jordan Evans.

“These four guys have been excellent leaders for us on and off the field and represent our program in an extremely positive manner with the example they set every day.” -Bob Stoops on Mayfield, Perine, Thomas, and Evans. “They also have a great pulse of the team and will govern everyone in a positive way.”

Mayfield, who finished fourth in Heisman voting last year, had 3,700 passing yards and 36 touchdowns, just last season. He only threw 7 interceptions. Mayfield is a serious Heisman contender this season.

Perine, who was injured for parts of last season, rushed for 1,349 yards and 16 touchdowns last season. Samaje is only 1,057 yards from passing the OU rushing record, held by Billy Sims at 4,118 yards.

Jordan Evans, who is from Norman, had 83 tackles last season as a linebacker. This season, he should have even higher stats with the loss of Frank Shannon and Dominique Alexander.

Ahmad Thomas, had a fantastic season last year, starting all 13 games, and having 75 tackles and 3 interceptions.

Jordan Evans and Ahmad Thomas are seniors, and Baker Mayfield and Samaje Perine are juniors, so they will have one more season with the Sooner Squad.

Article by Anderson Inman

One thought on “Sooner Football Team Captains 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s