Mayfield & Orlando Brown on Maxwell Award Watch List, Okoronkwo & J. Thomas on Bednarik

The Preseason watch list came out for both the Maxwell and Bednarik award, both featuring two Sooners, which will face some fierce competition.

The Maxwell Award is given to the College Football Player of the year. This year marks the 81st Annual Maxwell Award. The list includes two Sooners, Senior Quarterback Baker Mayfield and Junior Offensive Tackle Orlando Brown. Both players were very impressive last season, Brown only giving up one sack, and Mayfield putting up crazy numbers (254/358, 71.0% Passing, 3965 YDS, 40 TD, 8 INT) to lead him to becoming a Heisman Finalist and Sugar Bowl MVP.

The Bednarik Award is given to the College Defensive Player of the year, this year being the 23rd Annual Award. This preseason list also includes two Sooners, Senior Cornerback Jordan Thomas and Senior Linebacker Obo Okoronkwo. Jordan Thomas is an elite defender, broke up many passes last season, and had 2 Interceptions. Okoronkwo finished the season with an impressive 67 tackles and 9 sacks.

Make sure to watch for these Sooners throughout the season as they earn their way to their respected awards.

Article by Anderson Inman

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s